A named link for anchors.

Election day was July 12, 2018 | Innisfail-Sylvan Lake Unofficial Results | Fort McMurray-Conklin Unofficial Results

Mobile menu icon. Resize screen font.


A political party is an organization that aims to elect candidates to the Legislative Assembly. Anyone can form a political party, but only parties that have registered with the Chief Electoral Officer can be included on a ballot for an election. How to register a political party in Alberta can be found on our FAQ page.

This section contains resources for political parties, including information about how to register with the Chief Electoral Officer, a list of contact information of registered political parties and guides on various topics, such as filing financial reports and the responsibilities of financial agents.

Note: Alberta currently has 11 registered political parties. The information shown below is the most current data we have received from each of the political parties:

Expand All

Reserved Party Names

@PoliticsDirect Party July 12, 2018
Alberta Independence Party July 16, 2018
Alberta Advantage Party July 30, 2018
Alberta Freedom Alliance (AFA) August 13, 2018
The Precariat August 20, 2018
Progressive Canadian Provincial Conservatives (PCPC) August 20, 2018
National Party of Alberta August 28, 2018