Alberta Liberal Party

The Alberta Liberal Party, a registered political party, notified the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of its planned leadership contest. In accordance with section 9.2(1) of the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act (the EFCDA), the chief financial officer (CFO) of the party filed a statement with the CEO setting out:

January 16, 2017 as the date of the official call of the leadership contest; and

June 3, 2017 as the last day of voting for the leadership contest.

In accordance with section 44.96 of the EFCDA, each leadership contestant must file a Leadership Contestant Financial Statement within 4 months of the leadership vote. Accordingly, October 3, 2017 is the deadline for filing financial statements.

Registration of Leadership Contestants

The nomination period is January 16 to March 31, 2017 (revised December 15, 2016 upon notification from the Alberta Liberal Party).

An Application for Registration of a Leadership Contestant must be filed by the CFO of the party for each leadership contestant, in accordance with section 9.2(1) of the EFCDA. Each registered leadership contestant is identified below, along with the date that the registration application was approved by the Chief Electoral Officer:

Contestant Date of Registration
Nolan Crouse (withdrawn) January 17, 2017
David Khan March 28, 2017
Kerry Cundal March 31, 2017

On June 3, 2017 David Khan was voted in as the new leader.

Additional information regarding this leadership contest can be found in the Public Files maintained at Elections Alberta or by contacting the Alberta Liberal Party.

Financial Disclosure

A leadership contestant financial statement must contain all revenue, expenses, assets and liabilities and include the contributor’s name, address and total contribution amount for contributions of $250.01 and greater received during the campaign period, and the sum total of all contributions of $250.00 or less received during the campaign period.