Writs Issued for 2015 General Election

April 07, 2015

EDMONTON – Alberta’s Chief Electoral Officer, Glen Resler, confirms that Writs were issued today to administer elections across Alberta. “Returning Officers and Election Clerks have been appointed and trained along with their office teams and are ready to manage and conduct voting in the eighty seven (87) electoral divisions identified,” said Resler. Polling Day is on Tuesday, May 5th, 2015.

Canadian citizens who have lived in Alberta since November 4th, 2014 and are at least 18 years of age or older on Polling Day are eligible to vote. To be added to the List of Electors, an elector with a driver’s licence or Alberta ID card, may register on-line using Voterlink on our website www.elections.ab.ca until Tuesday, April 21st, 2015. To register at an Advance Poll or on Polling Day you must provide authorized identification containing your name and residential address in the electoral division. A list of authorized identification is on our website: click on “Voters” and then click on “ID required to vote”.

Election Timelines:

  • 87 Returning Officer offices open today across Alberta – check Elections Alberta’s website for contact information
  • Electors have 28 days to vote by Special Ballot beginning today.
  • Candidate nominations begin Tuesday, April 7th and end at 2:00 p.m. on Friday, April 17th.
  • Advance Polls run Wednesday, April 29th to Saturday May 2nd from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

For more information about the Provincial General Election visit www.elections.ab.ca, call toll free at 1-877-422-8683 during normal office hours, join us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Elections Alberta is an independent non-partisan office of the Legislative Assembly responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections, referenda and Senate Nominee elections.

Read the Full Press Release 

Posted in: Press Releases