Chief Electoral Officer will not seek reappointment

March 20, 2013

EDMONTON – Alberta’s Chief Electoral Officer, O. Brian Fjeldheim, has advised the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices that he will not seek reappointment when his term of appointment expires on April 23, 2013.

“I feel extremely privileged, honored and thankful to have been appointed twice to serve Albertans in the very important role of Chief Electoral Officer”, he said.

Mr. Fjeldheim expressed his gratitude to his colleagues: the Officers of the Legislature, the Legislative Assembly Office, and fellow members of the Public Service for their excellent support to Elections Alberta throughout his terms in office.

He thanked Elections Alberta staff for their loyalty and support, and for their professional and tireless service through a very challenging time.  The 87 Returning Officers and the 17,000 plus election workers are also to be thanked for their extraordinary dedication and service in conducting two elections on the same day, one to elect members to the Legislative Assembly and the other to elect Senate nominees.

Elections Alberta is an independent office of the Legislative Assembly that provides non-political administration of the electoral process.

– 30 –

For media inquiries, please contact:

Drew Westwater

Director, Election Operations and Communications

Suite 100, 11510 Kingsway Ave NW

Edmonton, Alberta

T5G 2Y5

(780) 427-1038

Posted in: Uncategorized