Chief Electoral Officer

Section 3(3) of the Election Act states: the appointment of the Chief Electoral Officer of Alberta expires 12 months after polling day for a general election unless he is re-appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council prior to that date on the recommendation of the Standing Committee.

Glen Resler

Chief Electoral Officer (December 2013 – Present)

Glen L. Resler, CPA, CMA

Former Chief Electoral Officers

O. Brian Fjeldheim (December 2009 – April 2013)
Lorne R. Gibson (June 2006 – March 2009)
O. Brian Fjeldheim (October 1998 – November 2005)
Dermot F. Whelan (September 1994 – March 1998)
Patrick D. Ledgerwood (August 1985 – June 1994)
Kenneth A. Wark (September 1977 – August 1985)