Land Acknowledgement

On behalf of the Chief Electoral Officer of Alberta and of all persons who work at Elections Alberta, we wish to acknowledge the traditional homeland of the many diverse First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people whose elders have walked this land before us and those persons of whom we share this great land with today. We are grateful to work and live upon this territory together and for the means to learn from all of the traditional peoples of these lands as we move forward together in reconciliation.

It is our commitment to all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people that we will continue to work together to build strong and positive relationships together: improving your access to voting, removing common barriers, alleviating challenges, and empowering your voice through your ballot.

Thank you:

Treaty 6

  • Denesuliné (Chipewyan)
  • Nehiyawak (Cree)
  • Nakota Sioux (Stoney/Assiniboine)
  • Saulteaux (Ojibwa/Anishinaabe)

Treaty 8

  • Nehiyawak (Cree)
  • Dene Tha’ (Slavey)
  • Dane-zaa (Beaver)
  • Denesuliné (Chipewyan)


Treaty 7

  • Niitsitapi (Blackfoot Confederacy)
    • Kainai (Blood)
    • Piikani (Peigan)
    • Siksika (Blackfoot)
  • Tsuu T’ina (Sarcee)
  • Iyarhe Nakoda (Stoney)


  • Buffalo Lake
  • East Prairie
  • Elizabeth
  • Fishing Lake
  • Gift Lake
  • Kikino
  • Paddle Prairie
  • Peavine

We also wish to acknowledge all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit persons that reside away from their traditional communities, but who still live across Alberta.